Once you have browsed or searched your Course Catalog and learnt more about the courses you were interested, you will be ready to enroll in the courses that you looked at and found interesting.
Registering in a course is donde through the Genius Shopping Cart, which is part of the Course Catalog we described here. The Shopping Cart is available directly from both the Preview and the Detailed View for each course that you can obtain from the Course Catalog.
This Article will discuss the Genius Shopping Cart, how it is used and how a learner like you can take advantage of it to search, browse through, learn about and enroll in the courses that you are interested in.
The Genius Shopping Cart
Like many e-Commerce sites you may use during your daily life, Genius makes use of a Shopping Cart to store the courses that you have selected for enrollment following the use of the Course Catalog.
As you browse through the Course Catalog, you can decide that you would like to enroll in a course and begin to save it into your Shopping Cart, just like you would in an online store. If at any point you decide that you do not want to enroll in a course that you've previously added to your cart, you can remove it by accessing your cart at any time.
Below, we describe how you can get the most out of your Shopping Cart as a learner in Genius SIS:
Adding a Course to your Cart
Adding a course to your Cart is easy. Once you have decided that you want to enroll in a course, simply click the Add to Cart button on the Preview tiles in the Course Catalog:
You can also add a course to your Cart by accessing a course's Detailed View through the Info button. This opens a floating window with additional details about the course. An Add to Cart button is available in the bottom right-hand corner of the Detailed View window.
By clicking either of these buttons, the selected course will be added to your Shopping Cart. You can then proceed to checkout or make changes to your selection, as described below:
Viewing your Cart
To check out or make changes to your selection, you can access your Shopping Cart at any time by clicking on the Shopping Cart icon in your Course Catalog. This shows a preview of the courses currently in your cart. You can have a more detailed view of the courses that are available for your selection by clicking on the Proceed to Checkout button below the Cart icon:
This opens your shopping cart, where you can review your selection, remove courses as required and edit your selection before checking out:
Removing a Course from your Cart
From the Course Catalog
You can remove a course from your cart quickly through the Genius Course Catalog. While in the Course Catalog, click the Cart icon. A small preview of the courses in your cart will deploy. On the right hand side of each course, a Trash icon will be available. Click that icon to remove the course from your selection:
You can then pick new courses directly from within the Course Catalog.
From your Cart
Removing a course from your cart is easy. Once you have opened your cart by clicking on the Proceed to Checkout button below the Shopping Cart icon in the Genius Course Catalog, a window will open with a summary of the courses you have selected, the instructor who will be responsible for the course, its start date, location and the tuition amount that must be paid in order to enroll in the course:
You can change the courses you have selected by clicking the Change Courses link below the Course column in the checkout environment. This will lead you back to the course catalog, where you can make adjustments to your selection as required.
To begin the checkout process, begin in your Course Catalog. You can click on the Register for Course link on the sidebar on the left-hand side of the screen to return to the Catalog. Once you are in the Catalog, click on the shopping cart icon on the top right of your screen. A small preview of your shopping cart deploys, along with a button that reads Proceed to Checkout:
Click on that button to enter your shopping cart. You will need to choose your payment method, and you can also choose to apply a Coupon Code that will make it possible for you to register without payment or at a discounted price, as applicable.
Once chosen, click on the Make Payment icon to complete the payment process. A complete overview of the payment process is provided here.
Paying for your Courses
Genius makes it possible for organizations to charge for the courses it offers. This option may not apply to your organization - as you may be using the platform to train internal users only - but other organizations that train not just their own but others too do need this functionality as part of their business.
We make it possible for you to pay for courses in a variety of ways: with a credit card, by mailing a check, or by performing an inter-department chargeback.
I checked out, but my courses still don't appear...
There may be a few reasons why this happens. We discuss the most common reasons below:
The system takes time before enrollments are completed
Enrollments are not completely instantaneous. Genius may take a few minutes following your checkout before you are enrolled in a course. Once the enrollment process is completed, you will receive an email confirming your enrollment and you should see the course appear in your Dashboard:
The course you selected may require approval
Some courses in Genius require that enrollment requests be approved by a manager or an instructor before they are completed. If the person responsible for the approval of your enrollment is not available, or has not logged into Genius in a while, your enrollment request may be delayed, and your course will not appear in your dashboard.
You selected a payment method that requires manual verification
If you selected to pay for your course by mailing a check or through a Purchase Order, these items may require verification from a third-party individual before your enrollment requested is completed. If this is the case, there may be a delay between the time you enroll and the time when your chosen course appears on your Dashboard.
I am already enrolled in a lot of courses...
Other users may have already enrolled you
The Genius SIS solution is designed to allow managers and instructors significant freedom when it comes to enrolling users into training. This is by design, as some organizations may require their members to complete training. If you are enrolled in a set of courses when you log into Genius, it is possible that your manager or that an instructor enrolled you in those courses.
The system automatically registered you for certain courses
Genius is also designed to reduce the administrative workload required to manage a learning initiative in a large organization. One of the ways in which we accomplish this automation is by making it possible for Administrators and Managers to create rules that automate enrollment - for example, all employees in your organization that belong to a specific department are enrolled automatically into their relevant training.
This could also be why you have already been enrolled into your courses when you first log into the system.
To learn more...
Genius can also be used to search for and learn about your courses. Once you have registered and completed the checkout process, you may have to complete payment in order to finalize the registration process. As you begin to complete your courses, you can also make use of your Genius Learner's Dashboard to help you navigate through your courses and obtain valuable data about your progress, performance and engagement. And when you are done, you can use Genius to print out transcripts and certificates that evidence your accomplishments.